167 Comments

My kid is still in virtual school, my partner works from home, and I have been gaining weight like Im getting paid. We are actually pretty happy all together ALL the time.

Expand full comment

Aw, your dogs and their little friend!

My one good thing is *finally* realizing my laptop is so old that the default browser wasn't loading the comments, but I installed another browser and it's been lovely reading everyone's "one (or more) good thing".

Expand full comment

I love seeing all these One Good Things (and that some folks have more than one!).

My one-plus good thing(s) is that my mom got her 2nd vaxx yesterday, I get my 2nd tomorrow. Plus, she retires the first week of April. All of which means that, after the post-vaxx waiting period, which coincides with me getting through Easter (I'm a minister; it's like playoff/SuperBowl season), I'll get to go home, spend her retirement week with her ... after not seeing her since Thanksgiving 2019. I'm tearing up just typing it out.

Expand full comment

Last year I discovered the Korean band BTS. Since then they have pretty much been my "one good thing", with their music and the comfort and laughter they so freely provide. But more specifically, BTS were on MTV Unplugged last night and performed the most stunning and devastating cover of Fix You by Coldplay. Dropping the link here in case anyone else wants to feel all the feels with me! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60g72d4Nqss

Expand full comment

My one good thing, about 15 years ago, Netflix had a yoga class with Sara Ivanhoe. Netflix stopped airing it so I bought her DVD called Candlelight Yoga. My wife and I have continued to practice with several outstanding instructors. Right now because of the pandemic, we use Down Dog yoga. I follow Sara on Instagram, so I sent her a message saying how much her work had changed my life. Much to my delight, she responded with a very nice thank you note. I think we all need someone to recognize us and praise us. Do good, be good, namaste.

Expand full comment

My good thing? My standoffish adolescent cat is morphing into a lap-sitter!

But I also want to respond to earlier references to the heyday of feminist blogging. Can we bring a feminist blogosphere back? Could Substack facilitate this?

I hope Substack starts to offer a structure where, say, I can subscribe to one newsletter for $5, two for $9, three for $12 - or something like that. Yes, this would result in lower revenues per subscriber for each individual author. But my gut feeling is that the increase in number of paying subscribers would lift all boats and authors would come out ahead.

Of course I can't be *sure* authors would earn more. Such a bundling scheme might have to be exploratory at first. But I think it's a promising idea.

Expand full comment

I got to see the ocean today :)

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

After nearly two weeks away from my apartment in Fort Worth (Texas), I returned today expecting to find some kind of leak or issue due to the power outages. I walked in and it looked like nothing had ever happened. Had to throw out all the food in my fridge (power was out for two days), but the amount of relief I felt in that moment was so wonderful.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

We live on a circle on a hill and there are lovely views so lots of people like to take walks here. Last summer we set up a "treasure river" by the sidewalk for the neighborhood kids - foreign coins you can buy by the pound, pretty tumbled stones, &c. They're allowed to take something when they come by. It's been amazing how often my "one good thing" is going outside and meeting a nice family with a kid poring through for just the right treasure! I lived in an apartment for 20 years and always wanted to know my neighbors and have a community... finally feel like we're getting there. Now let's get this pandemic over so we can start inviting some of them over and doing things together :)

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

Had some big work wins last week that kept me afloat! Also COOKING always <3

Expand full comment

I had a rough night last night and “allowed” myself 30 extra minutes of sleep this morning before commuting from my bed to my desk! Those 30 extra minutes were blissful

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

It was warmer and sunny here today in Richmond, VA! I took a nice long walk and had a chat with my sister - she's been accepted to the college I currently attend and is thinking of also coming here. I'm so excited!

Expand full comment

I work at a small company in a red state, but I was able to get my pronouns added to my business card. As a dude with a lot of privilege I was really happy to bring that to the attention of my upper management and I can't wait to give my card to clients

Expand full comment

Feeling so relieved that my dad and stepmother have also gotten both rounds!

Also, after several traumatic failed attempts (and spending $30 on different kinds of chicken snacks), I finally found a way to trick/force my cat to take his meds! So his little bald patches should be gone soon :)

Expand full comment

Hooray for parental units getting vaccinated! Mine get their 2nd on Saturday and I've made plans to go see them in early April (I'm in the Johnson & Johnson study and have been vaxed).

My random good thing is that I just made an appointment to discuss ADHD medication. I was evaluated last week, and I have ADHD - Inattentive Type, the mental condition formerly known as ADD. Can I tell you, it explains SO MUCH. Finding this out at age 50 is both freeing and makes me a little wistful for "what could have been."

Expand full comment

3 good things lol : Both parents had their second vaccine shots this week! And it's 70 degrees and sunny outside. And I'm finishing Having and Being Had by Eula Biss; wonderful book by a wonderful writer. :)

Expand full comment

One good thing: my Quarantine Romance Book Club (we celebrate our 1 year anniversary next month!!) is reading Reckless by Selena Montgomery (if you know, you know) and we're having our discussion on Friday and it's always the best part of my month. If anyone needs romance recs, I have read a LOT in the last year lol

Expand full comment

I just got home from my weekly volunteer gig at a cat rescue. Our census is way down right now, but tomorrow we’re getting a big group in from Utah. All these kitties on their way to loving homes makes me so happy! That and I set a boundary with a very challenging family member and held it without feeling guilty or second-guessing my decision.

Expand full comment

I got to listen to an audiobook the last 3 days uninterrupted and on my own terms (snuck away from the fam). It's small but magical. Trevor Noah's book, btw, is wonderful.

Expand full comment

I've been scared to start painting since I'm in my early 40s and have never done it and don't want to paint 1000 awful paintings before I get good, but I dove in and painted an onion on my counter and it actually looks amazing! I'm excited to keep learning.

Expand full comment

I got a 16% raise today that I wasn't expecting!

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

I got good news from my agent <3

Expand full comment

Woke up to an absolutely gorgeous, spring-like morning and puppy kisses. Such a fantastic way to wake up!

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

I quit dyeing my hair at the beginning of the pandemic after more than 30 years. My hair has gone mostly gray and it is quite a lovely shade of silver and I love it.

Expand full comment

I thought my job was going to end at the end of the month, but they're going to keep me on for at least four more weeks. Thank God for the income. This is such a tough time, it's hard to focus on work, but... we have to.

Expand full comment

My mom got her second Covid vaccine - couple weeks ago. I’m getting my second this week. My sister got her first last week (we both work in education and our state is luckily prioritizing people who work in schools after frontline workers and age 60+). My dad and stepmom are also signed up for their first dose in the next few weeks, so we should all be vaccinated by the time my first niece is born later this spring! Her mom has to wait until she’s born to get vaccinated, but we’re celebrating each person!

Expand full comment

It is warm for the first time in weeks. Also, my annual mole check at the dermatologist went well today--all benign!

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

Husbeast and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary yesterday! Well, yesterday was the actual day, but but we had a lovely staycation in a fancy suite over the weekend.

Expand full comment

I published my first book at the age of 61! And it’s about punk rock!

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

My daughter (3.5 years old) had a clean MRI! And doesn't need to have a 24 hour EEG! Which would have involved a 3 year old with EEG pads stuck to her head and a backpack recording her every brainwave for at least a full day! There were definitely tears of relief over here.

(She had an abnormal EEG after starting to have some unexplained tics two months ago, but the MRI ruled out all the really bad stuff that could be wrong. The second, more respected neurologists we consulted with are pretty sure it's just movement to calm anxiety or benign tics. She rocked all her physical exams. Even better, the tics have mostly gone away this week!)

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

One of my seven-year-old daughters is performing "What Have You Done for Me Lately?" right now. This is one pretty good thing.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

My friends who struggled with miscarriages and infertility for years had a beautiful baby boy yesterday!

Doggy daycare report cards confirming that my dog is a goodgirl who makes friends easily are another very good thing. I should book her in soon for that positivity boost.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

My dog is at this first day of daycare today! It's a little weird being in the house alone after spending nearly the entire past year with him, but I know he is having a great time, and it always makes me happy to know he's happy.

Expand full comment

My toddler went back to nursery today and it was a triumphant return. He was so so thrilled, woke up this am and said it is nursery day! Ate two breakfasts at nursery and spent all day outside in the pouring rain.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

My one good thing is that my son doesn't have Coronavirus, despite being exposed at work -- his tests are negative. For a second good thing, I downloaded an app to make me drink water, and I have been VERY HYDRATED.

Expand full comment

A few days ago I soaked some peas in a jar, intending to plant them in a shoebox. I ignored them until yesterday when I finally had the shoebox/dirt ready and when I dumped them out... some of them had already sprouted! Little white shoots poking up like puppy tails. V heartwarming.

Expand full comment

Since it's only tuesday, I'm supposing we mean last week because this week has barely begun, so I'm gonna say that on Valentine's Day I took sixty feet of red tinsel garland and embroidered the huge letters L O V E into the metal grid of the train overpass at the LIRR station across the street from my house. It was my first street art installation since moving back to Queens. I had the habit of doing installations of many kinds upstate, and everyone knew me and my works, and it felt good to be a part of my environment, to modify it and give something to my community through this form of expression. I missed this activity since leaving to come watch over my elderly mom in the house I grew up (very unhappily) in. So, it was a big deal for me.

I also sold a couple cartoons, which was nice: it's always nice to be able to announce that I still generate a regular income as an artist in the best of times, but even more reassuring when feeling like other people suspect I'm here at my mom's house because I've failed in some way.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

After 3 back to back pregnancies and nursing spanning from 2015-2019 I have found my way back to exercise. I got in 3 workouts in the past 7 days and I feel so strong!

YAY FOR VACCINES! I GET MY SECOND DOSE TOMORROW, TOO!

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

My parents ALSO both got their second vaccine shots, and they joined me for outdoor lunch at my mom’s favorite spot in the Castro where she promptly ordered an Irish coffee AND a ‘large Chardonnay.’ She’s 83 and rarely drinks at home so apparently visits to see me are a DOUBLY good thing. (The later asked for and added a lot of ice to her wine: ‘to hydrate.’)

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

I confirmed a trip to Rancho La Puerta in late April with two also vaccinated friends. It’s an amazing place and although the CDC advises against travel to Mexico (see Cruz, Ted), having been there before and knowing the procedures they’ve put into place, it feels like a great way to return to my retired life of travel.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

Mazel tov to your parents and in-laws. I just received shot #2 of the vax and feel extremely privileged and grateful for that. One major good thing: finally leaving an emotionally abusive relationship and moving into a new house as a single woman for first time in 12 years.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

I bought a cricut; I'm going to make a bunch of silly stickers (and NOT open an etsy shop because I'm doing this for fun, not to add customer service stress to my life)

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

This may seem like a *bad* thing, but I had a client come forward and tell me she needs to put a pause on our contract. While at first, this made me feel overwhelmed at the prospect of losing income, I realized that I've been needing a break in my schedule to recenter and think about the kind of business that I want to run, as well as turn my focus to new client acquisition! I'm feeling excited and driven for the first time in a while :)

Side note: I'm a small business owner, working with female creatives and small businesses on marketing, partnerships, brand documents, and social media! If you're interested in supporting or learning more, or if this sounds like something that you would benefit from- check me out at elisabethannecolette.com ! 💕

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

Since last November I've been pestered by a double ear infection. Nothing too painful but the swelling refused to go down, which means I've been quite deaf for months now. (I even bought bone headphones, so I could at least listen to audiobooks.)

First I waited for the infections to die down (which they normally do; these are not my first.) Then I went to my local pharmacy for sour ear drops, which usually do the trick. They didn't.

I don't have a GP here in the Czech Republic, so then I contacted my Dutch GP, to ask for an antibiotics recipe. I waited close to a month for that to arrive (allowing for covid delays) but finally had to contact the doctor again to ask for a new recipe, since the first got lost in the mail.

Today, two weeks after that second request, the recipe arrived.

I'll go to the pharmacy tomorrow. Hopefully I can start with that antibiotics cure soon.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

My daughter turns 18 tomorrow and she’s becoming a badass woman! Okay - I am an emotional puddle about it but still really proud of the person she’s become! Too many feels.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

My good thing? This is going to sound strange. My dad died 2 weeks ago today. He was very elderly (95) and had dementia. Caring for him alone this last year was brutal for my mom and I guess my good thing is that she has been liberating. She is grieving of course, but she is so much less anxious.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

My one good thing.... hrmm I have stuck to a workout routine for two whole months (which is the longest of my adult life!) and it's finally starting to feel like a habit. I'm benefiting from better sleep, more energy, better stress and anxiety control, and more 'good' moods. Who knew? haha Doing my best to stay focused on those benefits instead of physical results. Love this thread!

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

I was obnoxious to my company's HR team until they expanded our emergency time off policy to cover our coworkers in Texas. I felt so helpless all along bc I couldn't fix power or water outages for people several states away, but advocating for company policy to support them was one small thing I could do, and that was satisfying.

Expand full comment

My dad had successful ankle surgery yesterday. I survived the day (driving 1.5 hours each way to be with him) and convinced him not only to stay overnight for immediate recovery, but to seriously consider skilled nursing care for long-term recovery. He's not safe at home, but he's safe right now.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2021Liked by Jessica Valenti

Hooray for vaccines! So glad to hear that your loved ones got their second dose, Jessica. My good thing this week was taking my 12 year old to the park to sled with a friend she hasn't seen in over a year.

Expand full comment