142 Comments

I let go an incredibly toxic person from my department at work and the energy shift is palpable and so refreshing.

Expand full comment

I started my first job post-college at Vogue last week. One of my bosses is really tough but on Tuesday she told me she loved my outfit LOL. i’ll take it !!

Expand full comment

Earlier this week I fell apart. Yesterday I took a whole day to take care of myself, which is something I've always scoffed at. I took a yoga class, went to the naked lady spa, got tacos, and picked my kid up early to take him to ice cream. This morning he came into my bed and I looked at his sleeping face and just knew (eventually) it's going to be OK.

Expand full comment

A colleague told me everyone thinks I'm doing an amazing job at work! I'm in a selective, somewhat elitist environment, so every bit of praise on this teacher-raised, state-school educated gal is appreciated.

Expand full comment

My father recently had another small stroke and had to go into a nursing home (bad). I am all tied up trying to get my family's home repaired after a freak hailstorm back in April. Thankfully, my older brother and younger sister have swooped in to help make sure our parents our being cared for.

Expand full comment

I had my first paid essay published yesterday on McSweeney's and reading how many people related to my little funny take on raising a preschooler has brought me so much joy!

Expand full comment

Today I found a parking spot right outside my apartment building (a miracle here in Richmond) and FLAWLESSLY parallel parked in it on my first try (yet another miracle.)

Expand full comment

Last week I hosted my no-longer-estranged-due-to-family-drama-trauma cousin and her new wife. SO good to reconnect with her after decades and find out how much we have in common. Both survivors of the same disturbing family tree. Both queer. Both love pistachios. Love her so much <3

Expand full comment

I ate delicious watermelon for lunch and for once all the clean laundry is in my drawers rather than in piles at the foot of my bed 😂

Expand full comment

I just got back from a two week trip to Japan and LA bit more importantly, I finally saw Spider-Man far from home aka TEEN SPIDER-MAN

Expand full comment

I spent yesterday evening watching the sunset in California. My grandmother, who recently passed away lived for sunrises and sunsets. These moments always remind me of her.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

So everytime I see 'Eat Me' in the subject line of my inbox (only a few weeks, admittedly, but yay for those few weeks!), for a split second it makes me go 'Whaaaa?' and then in another split second I realize 'Oh yay! It's stuff from Jessica!' I mean, like we're pals now and you're just emailing me again. :-)

Expand full comment

I found out today that I get a few days off between finishing a summer job and starting a new job. Double one good thing... an abundance of jobs and time to chill ✨ 💕

Expand full comment
AnonymousJul 16, 2019

When I muttered "look at the state of me" as I caught a glimpse of my reflection after a stressful day at work...and my six-year old son immediately said "you're always beautiful Mum". Heart melted right there xx

Expand full comment

The very good and delicious pork loin and potatoes I made for dinner last night was just as delicious for lunch this afternoon as I read emails and a book.

Expand full comment

I'm seeing Carly Rae Jepsen on Sunday!

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I had an early morning swim at a very quiet beach with my dog and we might just do it again tonight!

Expand full comment

The fact that after reading this I realize how many good things I have to choose. Thank you!

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

Most mornings, we wake up to find our beloved 55-lb dog, Rosie, laying sideways at the foot of the bed, leading at least one of us to have, in our sleep, curled into the fetus position for lack of leg room. This morning, she instead had laid down in between us. Everyone got in on a group snuggle and everyone got to straighten their legs.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I'm 33.5 weeks pregnant with my first-- after several years of trying and several rounds of fertility treatments-- and got to see baby's face (cute little nose) in profile on an ultrasound yesterday. And I just went through the bin of adorable newborn clothes that a friend lent me, and there's so much tiny sweet things that I can't wait to dress the baby in. It's getting real!

Expand full comment

I just had an amazing taco for lunch. Now I'm ready to get back to work. #tacos4life

Expand full comment

Made pizza from scratch (well, just the sauce and dough) and not only did it turned out amazingly great, but my husband was so proud that he showed pictures to everyone at his work.

Expand full comment

I bought a wedding dress! When I tried it on to show my parents, they both cried a little from happiness. My dad hugged me and said, “You look happy, and happy looks good on you.” :)

Expand full comment

I’m dog sitting again for two of my favorites ❤️👌

Expand full comment

I get to start teaching in a few weeks, and hopefully influence the next generation of voters and politicians.

Expand full comment

Received the loveliest text message from my cousin last night after I sent him an anniversary card. He and his husband have been together for 25 years and married for six. Our family isn't terribly accepting, so yay for love!

Expand full comment

I took a new job for a less pay and more piece of mind. I am extremely anxious about the financial aspect but where I am currently I am surrounded by men that have trump posters in their cubicles and are just generally awful to be around. Even if I have to find a side hustle I *know* this will be better for me. The stress is killing me.

Expand full comment

Sent my manuscript edits off to my publisher! And my anxious dog (scared of big trucks, of which there are many where I live) successfully walked past a dump truck without losing her mind - progress!!

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

my adorable cat <3

Expand full comment

I just saw an American Bittern - from a birdwatching perspective this is huge for me :-)

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

This newsletter. Getting to go home to dogs

Expand full comment

My friend's older dog doesn't have a lot of time left, so we're going on a road trip to give her some fun sights, experiences, and smells while she can still enjoy them. She's such a great doggo and my friend has given her a long, happy life... it should be a special trip.

Expand full comment

My 5 year old daughter skinned her knee pretty good on Saturday and we were putting some ice on it when her 9 month old brother came over and cried with her and put his hand on hers. It’s really sweet how deeply they care for each other.

Expand full comment

I'm taking a week off of wine and I feel great! Not sure that's good news. lol

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I have just had an hour and a half of time all by myself. Summer is rough for my introverted self, especially bc my partner is a teacher so it’s not just my 5 year old underfoot but him, too so these moments of aloneness are precious to me.

Expand full comment

I'm really scared about a big move but I think it might be the making of me? Also, does anyone have a spare room in London for me?

Expand full comment

I’m currently sitting poolside in Pasadena. Life is good!

Expand full comment

To be honest, medical marijuana. It has soothed my chronic pain and severe anxiety. I know not everyone approves, but it is a gift. Truly.

Expand full comment

Really feeling myself for making a half-sour/half-sweet cherry version of this recipe: https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/3783-original-plum-torte

Expand full comment

Took my 10 year old to get her ears pierced. She's so, so happy and I only sort of freaked out (internally!).

Expand full comment

Recently, my 10 year old was at camp and his pals began talking about a certain celebrity who just came out of the closet. They laughed about it and made jokes, but my son shut it down and told them not to tease someone about their sexuality. As awful as the world is right now, this kind of behavior gives me hope for the future.

Expand full comment

Someone bought donuts into the office today

Expand full comment

Update on last thread. My 15-year-old and I have made fresh sourdough bread a few times since last writing. Watching this one make something from scratch -- from feeding the starter to the kneading, to the overnight rising, to the baking -- and then take so much joy in devouring it is really something.

Expand full comment

We moved a year ago and I’m still looking for a job. I heard from one of my references that I should be getting a job offer soon!

Expand full comment

My toddler is a fierce, determined little one. She's not going to take any shit from bullies and I'm so grateful for that... even though she's a handful.

Expand full comment

I love this Substack thing. It's such a great Marianne is old school blogging and newsletters.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I mowed my lawn and my neighbor's lawn this morning before it got too hot and humid, so now no one has to think about it for hopefully another two weeks or so! Plus all my marigolds are just running rampant and smelling really fresh.

Expand full comment

My best friend is en route traveling to see me from Paris - haven’t seen her in over a year !!

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I finally got my period after having my stillborn daughter in April, so now my husband and I can try again <3

Expand full comment

My job is slowly destroying my soul but my daughter’s well-being and happiness make up for it all.

Expand full comment