188 Comments

My husband and I getting the whole summer to bond with our new baby - a ridiculously amazing privilege that should just be standard but isn't in our damn country (Ooops - back to one good thing!)

Expand full comment

I just arrived at the magical World Fellowship Center in the White Mountains of New Hampshire to begin a weeklong writing retreat! Very excited.

Expand full comment

Michigan strawberries for breakfast.

Expand full comment

I rescued two geckos that someone threw in the garbage. They are the sweetest little things that have filled my heart with so much joy.

Expand full comment
AnonymousJul 4, 2019

When I had a dog I’d do my post workout stretching and he’d lick my salty forehead. My one good thing is my one year old starting to talk

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I turned 40 and life didn’t end. Also, lots of wonderful people helped me celebrate and I feel loved.

Expand full comment

I live by the ocean not to far from NYC, so I thought last night would be crazy everywhere but it was relatively calm. The even better part was the hotel in the town I live was showing League of Their Own on the rooftop. While the movie was playing you could see all of the other towns near by do their firework display. It was a really beautiful way to kick off this holiday with two of my best friends

Expand full comment

I teach scientific communication in English at one of the top Japanese universities where the male:female ratio is abysmal. Yesterday, in the reflection assignment, the ONLY female student in this particular class (who wants to study robotics!) told me that before this class, she was not confident in her English, but this class has helped her realize she's quite good at communicating in English (she's the best in her class) and that this new found confidence allowed her to apply for an international exchange program, and she got it!! As a WOC scientist myself, and an advocate for gender/racial/etc equality in academia, I couldn't be more proud of her <3 (and let's be honest, I feel proud of myself for bringing out her confidence :P)

Expand full comment

After innumerable stops and starts, I think I have finally figured out how I am going to attack my stacks and stacks of notebooks full of writing ideas that date back to the 80s and 90s - I am converting as many of the ideas as I can into plays and short stories. I know that this probably doesn't sound like much to others who read this but this is a personal breakthrough for me. I feel like I have procrastinated long enough and I am not going to stop until I reach Broadway ! 😊

Expand full comment

The kind and encouraging instructor at my gym brings in the excess lemons from his tree and I baked a lemon and ricotta cake using his lemons and brought him a slice which he seemed genuinely surprised and pleased about which in turn made me feel good!

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I just moved to a more residential part of Brooklyn and this morning I woke up to a squirrel building a nest on my window AC unit and she sat and stared at my face inches away through the glass and she was so cute. Unfortunately her nest can’t stay there but we named her Penelope Pecan and she looked deep in my soul and I love her.

Expand full comment

I've been dragging my arse out for a 5k walk almost every morning with my toddler and elderly boxer dog. It's an effort to get out but it soothes my morning sickness, my dog is healthier and my boy babbles the whole way, pointing at trees and birds. It's a lovely start to the day,plus I've lost a couple of kg as well!

Expand full comment

I have a pork shoulder in the oven (Julia Turshen's recipe) and slaw marinating in the fridge for sandwiches tomorrow. There may also be a galette in the works.

Expand full comment

Went in to work on my day off today to earn a few extra $. While it was just the two of us in the shop deep cleaning, my notoriously private coworker/friend opened up to me about his love life. Its super gratifying to have his trust and to know that he's doing ok.

Expand full comment

I had lunch with my best friend- ate at a delicious new restaurant and they gave us free ice cream for dessert.

Expand full comment

I had a shrimp po boy for lunch that featured *perfectly* fried shrimp.

Expand full comment

I work at a Community Center and a young girl (maybe 12 or 13) was watching boys play basketball. She made comments at how brave the boys were for playing all out in the game and how boys are always courageous. I got to explain to her that girls are brave and courageous too. Afterwards she smiled and said her mom was courageous!

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I was walking in the park yesterday morning - it was too hot, my dog was being a pill because he still doesn’t understand the stroller, there was dirt in my sandal. Suddenly my 4month old daughter was hypnotized by the light coming through the trees. Her little face was just full of thoughts/wonder/amazement. It completely snapped me out of my grouchy mood. We stood there for a while, letting the light play across her face. She was so happy and suddenly so was I. Even my dog chilled out. It was just really lovely, remembering that to her it’s all new, and if I try it can be new for me too.

Expand full comment

I took the day before (today) Independence Day and the day after off so now I have a reverse work week (two days on, five days off.) I am currently reading fun things and eating chips while my 11 year-old shih-tzu, Bagel, snores next to me (honestly, one of my favorite noises.)

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

There are a lot of homeless people that ask for money at the traffic lights in Auckland (New Zealand). My 7yr old girl always makes sure we have cash on hand in the car so that we can give it to someone in need. She once made an envelope covered in rainbows and put all her pocket money in it!

Expand full comment

I love my jumpsuit. It makes me look like a supermodel in pajamas and covers my bloat nicely. ❤️❤️

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

One good thing.... hmmm

Threw an impromptu girls night/party at my place.

It was so much fun to hang out, sing tunes from our younger years, dance and talk about sex.

When my husband later joined us (with some of the other husbands) he made grilled cheese sandwiches for the whole crew.

I just love getting together with women who inspire me.

Expand full comment

my 13-month-old daughter learned to say “onion” last night. we had caramelized onions in our dinner salad and she DEVOURED the ones we gave her and started saying “nun-yun! nun-yun!” and was just so full of glee at the prospect of onions. she’s so into food and I love it.

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

My 19 month old daughter is usually the source of most of my good things. She just makes my husband and I laugh so much sometimes 😂 I was sitting with her in her play area last night, and she grabs a book, turns her back to me and backs up until she sits on my lap. “I mean, you weren’t going anywhere were you?” Lol it’s the cutest.

My non-child related one is buying some Snag Tights (it’s winter here), and discovering they do what they say! No Superman/extra knickers required to hold them up 🥳

Expand full comment

I ordered my breakfast in French today and the lady actually understood me! My 35 yr old brain, now living Montreal, is learning the language very slowly, so this morning felt like such a victory!

Expand full comment

My I-won-the-lottery-of-second-chances hubby had a retinal detachment last week. We got him to ER in time and they were able to save his eye. FYI if you have floaters that don't go away-DO NOT WAIT! Get help immediately. Now we know.

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

My job blesses me with sweet moments almost daily, but today's winner is definitely my incredibly vulnerable and recently extremely unwell new immigrant client lighting all the way up, sitting up straight and beaming when I said there'd be fireworks tomorrow.

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

My fiancé & I took my sister and her 5-year-old daughter fishing over the weekend. It was so great seeing my niece outside soaking up the sun & getting excited over catching her very own fish. It’s the little moments that make me thankful that I’m so close to my family!

Expand full comment

My 15 year old son recently asked if we could make sourdough bread together. 15 year olds, for those who don't live with one, try not to speak or make eye contact or act like they care about anyone or anything. So it gives me great pleasure to see his feet doing the snoopy-like happy dance after feeding "our" starter. And who knows ... maybe there's freshly baked bread at the end of this road, too. But for now, happy dancing feet....

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

Bruno’s quite the Tim Burton dog. (A look I like very much.)

One good thing: cold brew Japanese green tea*.

*The fancy method. Put loose leaf green tea in a mug, cover with ice-cubes, wait till they have melted and drink.

Put loose leaf green tea in a tea pot, fill tea pot with cold tap water, wait for twenty minutes and drink.

Expand full comment

One good thing - I got a new dog two weeks ago and I am in LOVE. She is so relaxing and such a good snuggler.

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I just bought a fountain soda from the Hardees next door to my office for $1.12. Really helping on this pre-holiday weekend end of the work day slump.

Expand full comment

I just got a well-deserved raise.

I have been working my ass off and totally earned every penny.

Expand full comment

I just got a well-deserved raise.

I have been working my ass off and totally earned every penny.

Expand full comment

I delivered a healthy baby girl late last night (mom's third baby but first in which she gave birth according to her own wishes for her body without being manipulated/coerced by paternalistic doctors. It was really lovely!) and then slept over at my midwife colleague's air-conditioned house with her two sweet pups on the couch. Living the dream!

Expand full comment

Just dropped Cardi B into a conversation at work and it went over BIG with the interns. That's right kids, I'm relevant. (??)

Expand full comment
AnonymousJul 3, 2019

I'm a teacher and today I read a letter with my 13 year olds written by Elizabeth Cady Stanton on marriage and divorce laws. I thought they'd hate it but they were SO outraged by the idea of the powerlessness of women in the 19th C- it was like lighting a match! Can't wait until tomorrow's lesson where we think about how little has changed in some respects...

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I had the best Ladies Night with new friends last night - lots of cheese & wine ending in a drunk game of Spoons.

Expand full comment

Last night, I was able to catch up with a great friend of mine who now lives on the west coast over the phone.

Expand full comment

My sweet 10-year-old Chesapeake retriever, St. Peter, is finally responding to his meds and up on his feet after two weeks of scary medical concerns. Deep sigh of relief!

Expand full comment

My dog will carry anything. Sticks (duh), leftovers (in a box), bags by the handle (or just a bag of potato chips), beer cans, plastic cups gripped by the tiny little lip at the top, newspapers, folders, potted plants. You name it, she'll carry it. It is the most adorable thing in the world.

Expand full comment

My kids buried the baby up to her waist in the sandbox, so I got to sit in the shade with a tea and my knitting for a solid half hour and my tea *didn't go cold*

Expand full comment

I biked to work on a lakefront path and really cherished the warm sun on my face, the breeze, and the moment of solitude.

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

Swimming in the ocean with my 6 year old daughter who is learning to swim. We locked eyes and smiled at each other while riding the waves. I felt so happy to experience her happiness and pride alongside her.

Expand full comment

I live in Ontario, Canada. Last spring we elected a Conservative government (or republican) the day that I graduated a four-year honours degree in critical social work. Within 48 hrs, there was a hiring freeze on all public sector jobs. This has made it almost impossible for graduates to get a job in their field. So, I kept the sales job that I had worked at throughout my degree. It wasn’t in my field, and contributing to mass consumerism isn’t ideal, but I get to help people all day. It’s hard to keep up with cost of living, especially with a disabled spouse.

My good thing is that I have finally gotten enough seniority there to book the long weekend off to spend with my sister, mother, and our spouses.

Expand full comment

I'm in a coffee shop right now. The owner of the shop just brought a big mug of cold milk to a doggo sleeping under her owner's feet.

Expand full comment

Saw a small rabbit eating some big dandelion leaves in my yard yesterday. Then, when it got tired, it just laid down for awhile! SO CUTE!

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

I finally booked an acting job after like, 2 years of no jobs (I have another job, don't worry!), but super excited to get back on set!

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

My best friend is coming up to hang out with me and my husband over the long weekend. Planning on being in a pool and drinking for most of the day tomorrow!

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2019Liked by Jessica Valenti

Yesterday evening I was sitting on the living room floor with my toddler daughter, eating super-ripe, fresh-from-the-field strawberries. Juice was exploding all over her, running in red rivulets down her chin as we both cackled with joy.

Expand full comment